How can I enrol students on an organisation site?

Course administrators or individual instructors have the responsibility for enrolling and removing students on organisation sites. Enrolling or removing students is now an immediate process.

Student enrolment/removal on all module sites is done automatically through a link with SI.

This procedure is required for all organisation enrolments and removals.

Follow this procedure to enrol (or remove) a student on an organisation site:

Step 1: Download a CSV/Excel file with the student numbers that you wish to enrol (or remove) from SI, or create the file manually.

Step 2: Make sure each row of the file has a different student number in the first column, with all other columns blank.

Step 3: Don't include the names or any headings, just the numbers. An example is shown below:

The next 2 steps steps my differ slightly depending on the version of Office and the Operating System you are running.

Step 4: Now click the File button and then Save As.

Step 5: Change the Save as type to "CSV (Comma Delimited) (*.csv)"

Step 6: Save the file somewhere you can get to it easily (e.g. your desktop) by clicking on Save.

Step 7: Now login to Blackboard via My Hallam.

Step 8: In Blackboard, there should be a channel called Staff Tools (by default it is located at the top of the right-most column, though if you have changed the location of the channel it will be where you put it).

Step 9: Inside that channel please click on the link Enrol students on organisation site.

Step 10: On the Student Enrolment Tool page:

Step 11: Select Enrol (or Remove).

Step 12: Enter the Organisation ID (this can be found by looking under the organisation name in the Blackboard sites channel). Example: 66-Z-U0848-20189.

Step 13: Under Upload Student File, click Choose File and select the CSV file with the student numbers.

Step 14: Click Next. You will see a confirmation about which students you are going to enrol (or remove). Confirm these are correct by clicking Submit. You will then see a further confirmation, confirming that the students have been enrolled (or removed). This process is immediate.

Step 15: Click Exit to return to Blackboard. You can further confirm students have been enrolled (or students have been removed) successfully by checking the Users list or Grade Centre in the organisation site.

Explore the following topics for related information: 
Total votes: 433
Did you find this useful?