When does archiving Blackboard sites happen, and what does it mean?
Module sites from previous years will remain accessible for as long as there are students enrolled and at least one staff member must be enrolled on each site. Module sites where there are no student enrolments and the student enrolments haven't been updated within the last 30 days will automatically be archived. Once archived, module sites will be retained for at least 24 months before they are deleted. Student work will all be retained in the archived site, but once a student has left the University a Blackboard site unarchive request must be submitted if you need access to the site or work again. To submit a Blackboard site unarchive request, login to Assyst (using your normal username and password), then select Request a service staff > Corporate systems > Blackboard > Blackboard site unarchive request.
Organisations sites which are no longer in use are archived each September. They are retained for 3 months before they are permanently deleted. You will not be able to access any content from an organisation site once it has been deleted
You need a new copy of your Blackboard site for each new cohort of students. You cannot use the same site again with a new cohort. Your sites will be copied automatically in June each year, but if you need the new copy before then, or cannot see the new copy, you should request a new site by selecting the Request a new Blackboard site link from the Blackboard tools module on the Institution Page after logging into Blackboard.